The Late Night Side of Morning


This novel was inspired by an ancestor (Dr. ‘Doc’ William May) who suffered death at the hands of his forty-year-old suitor’s (Andrew Sheffield) father, Col. James L. Sheffield in 1890. Andrew Sheffield’s story is written in John S. Hughes The Letters of a Victorian Madwoman.

free kindle book The Late Night Side of Morning
Format Kindle ebook
Published 11 Jul 2014
Pages 454
Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. amazoncom

Book Details

Rosie Moon is a sixteen year old farm girl growing up in the southernmost foothills of Appalachia in Northwest Alabama. Her story begins in the summer of 1969 when relatives come to spend the summer in her small mountain community of Ben Johnson Ridge. She takes a special interest in her youngest cousin, a ten year old girl named Janie Noble; a child filled with grief, anger and guilt after witnessing her father’s suicide. During that passionate season of free love Rosie and Janie become almost inseparable as tragedy and danger force them into a family bond of survival when a mostly benevolent ancestral ghost is unleashed into their lives. This long-dead ancestor reveals himself as a medical doctor who practiced after the Civil War, and leads them on a precarious treasure hunt. The girls are forced to seek refuge and embark on an adventurous journey in the summer of 1970, where they learn no good deed goes unpunished, yet erudition eludes the lesson. As one good deed follows another, the girls become entangled in legalities, finding their actions potentially libel, with possible criminal prosecution, all the while still facing Doc Campbell in vividly detailed dreams during the late night side of morning.

Books by Loretta Wade

When the Rainbow Comes


Andy's unique ability to glimpse into a world beyond the rainbow brings out deep philosophical questions. Is it possible to share a glimpse of what God sees when the rainbow comes? And, is Heaven really just beyond the rainbow? These are some of the subjects covered in this inspirational and supernatural story.

Where The Willows Weep


"Where The Willows Weep" is a sentimental journey that is sure to captivate any reader. The story is told in Loretta's signature southern style and it centers around a Hospice worker's struggle to help her patient fight through his terminal illness.

Single Handed


"What a inspirational story for cancer victims and a family's love for a dog. This book will make you laugh , smile and cry. Read it and see for yourself you will love it!" - Amazon Reviews. This inspirational biography was released in 2012 to rave reviews and continues to be an inspiration for anyone who suffers a tragedy , but lives to overcome and prosper.

Walking in Slippery Places


Ouija..the ancient evil witch board.. brings forth a demonic presence into the Ashworth family's life. Their friends, neighbors, and the clergy step in to confront the demonic presence. The ensuing struggle between good and evil is the center of a series of events that catapults the reader to the very edge of his imagination.