Hunter Down (Roger and Suzanne mystery series Book 12)


A high-powered rifle shot rings out in California’s early morning stillness launching Roger and Suzanne into another suspenseful mystery thriller. In a complex whodunit set against a backdrop of pointing dogs and canine hunt tests, private detective Roger Bowman has to solve a murder case with no clues, no suspects, and no apparent motive. There’s lots of action as the dogs hunt for birds while the humans hunt for a cold-blooded killer.

free kindle book Hunter Down (Roger and Suzanne mystery series Book 12)
Format Kindle ebook
Published 18 Oct 2015
Pages 292
Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. amazoncom

Book Details

The seventh novel in the popular Roger and Suzanne mystery series is the second novel (after "The Deadly Dog Show") starring prize-winning dog Juliet as a featured character. Suzanne, with a lot of help from Bruce, enters Juliet and her puppy Romeo in several local hunt tests. Naturally, Suzanne finds a dead body at the hunt test venue her first time handling Romeo. Roger, recruited at the scene by an old friend from the local Sheriff’s Department, is asked to help in the murder investigation. It looks like an impossible case to solve. Roger launches a complex, multifaceted investigation, picks up a couple of paying clients and a new detective for his agency, and gets to learns all about canine hunt tests. There’s a lot of suspense as we join the dogs and the detectives hunting their prey while also peeking into the Southern California social scene and lifestyle. A must for German shorthaired pointer and other hunting dog owners, breeders, and handlers, dog lovers in general, and mystery fans. All of the books in this series can be read as standalone entries or in series order. FREE from Kindle Unlimited.

Books by Jerold Last

The Origin Of Murder (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 8)


Roger and Suzanne take a vacation cruise through the Galapagos Islands, 600 miles west of Ecuador. En route, they visit the ancient Incan city and capital of Ecuador, Quito the highest capital city in the Americas. Of course, Suzanne finds a dead body floating in the Pacific Ocean. As Roger and Suzanne retrace the path that Charles Darwin sailed and walked more than 175 years ago, the body count increases almost as fast as the clues.

The Surreal Killer (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 2)


Set in Peru and Chile, The Surreal Killer seamlessly mixes the genres of whodunit thriller and travel to exotic places to introduce the reader to the regional culture and history of the Incas, while a mysterious modern-day murderer proves we reap what we sow. The gripping story blends murder, intrigue, and modern Chile’s history with the genesis of a serial killer.

Unbearably Deadly (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 9)


Denali National Park in Alaska’s vast heartland is the scene of a bloody and lethal attack that kills two of Roger and Suzanne’s friends. The FBI investigation concludes the cause of death was a tragic accident. With nothing more than a gut feeling that something is amiss, our detective couple heads to Alaska to search for the truth in “Unbearably Deadly”, the newest novel in this acclaimed mystery series.

The Matador Murders (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 3)


The Matador Murders, a South American mystery novel, is set in Montevideo, Uruguay and Santiago, Chile. With apologies to reality, the Montevideo of this novel is much like the lawless Chicago of the prohibition years. That’s part of the fun of writing fiction----an author can turn one of the most law-abiding and civilized big cities in the world into the wild, wild west of the 19th century American frontier with the stroke of a pen.

Rum, Cigars, and Corpses (Roger and Suzanne mystery series Book 13)


Are you ready to visit Cuba? With a group full of suspicious tourists, the Cuban Intelligence Services, the CIA, and a sprinkling of other suspicious characters waiting for them in Havana, Roger and Suzanne have no shortage of suspects in their newest mystery novel. The book was inspired when the author and his wife recently took the same tour Roger and Suzanne join in the novel, so the scenery is authentic and it's hot, humid, and sunny.

The Deadly Dog Show (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 6)


A suspenseful thriller set in the hyper-competitive world of canine conformation shows. Roger and Suzanne have to identify Suzanne’s mysterious stalker while they solve the murders of dog show judges. Breeders and dog show enthusiasts, mystery fans, and whodunit lovers have rewarded the novel with critical praise.

The Body in the Bed (Roger and Suzanne South American Mystery Series Book 5)


Roger and Suzanne return to Montevideo, Uruguay to attend a festive dinner in honor of their friend's promotion to police captain. There's a surprise guest waiting for them when they arrive in their hotel room. Roger and Suzanne are the lead suspects in a murder, their allies on the police forces of Uruguay and Paraguay may be the targets of a conspiracy, and nobody can be trusted.

Abra Cadaver (Roger and Suzanne Mystery series Book 14)


New Release: Why did the client’s husband disappear just a couple of days after his wedding? The setting is a winery in Northern California’s Central Valley. Roger is hired to find the missing husband and the reader is off on another suspenseful case that will entertain mystery fans, dog lovers, and wine aficionados. Like all the Roger and Suzanne novels the books can be read in any order so readers can begin the series with this novel.