Deep Water Tears: Book 1 The Dreaming Series


A love story between an Australian girl and a part-Indigenous Australian boy, against a backdrop of bi-racial social issues.

free kindle book Deep Water Tears: Book 1 The Dreaming Series
Format Kindle ebook
Published 13 Feb 2015
Pages 267
Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. amazoncom

Book Details

Rachel cannot imagine a life away from ‘Binda’, her home in the bush, where the Macquarie River flows alongside her back door. Her childhood days are spent with her neighbour and biracial best friend, Darel; exploring and learning about the Australian bush and the Wiradjuri (aboriginal) culture, through the teachings of his part-aboriginal mother. At their favourite meeting place, the dividing fence between the two properties, they share all their secrets, including what Darel has told Rachel about his mother’s experience as one of the Stolen Generation.

Meanwhile, Rachel’s mother, Betty Winton, looks to the future and will go to any length to separate her only daughter from an ‘unsuitable’ relationship. Rachel is sent to boarding school, and a few years later the family home is sold to Darel’s parents, the Rutherfords. Rachel struggles to come to terms with losing Binda and her best friend, but later, when Darel re-enters her life with a woman by his side, she finally decides she must let go of the past, once and for all. However, could what she thought to be her greatest loss, actually be to key to finding her greatest joy?

Books by Jan Reid

Grace: Book 2 The Dreaming Series


The story of a part Indigenous Australian woman, confronted with accepting or rejecting her aboriginality.

Barons Reach: Book 3 The Dreaming Series


A love story between a part-Indigenous Australian woman and a part-Indigenous Australian man, against a backdrop of bi-racial social issues.