Mark Pettinger

Mark lives in the UK, and is one of the latest writers to break into the genre of crime fiction, and is the author of the DCI Priest series - sturdy police procedurals entwined with gritty and emotional thrillers. The Decalogue has been in Amazon's Top10 Crime Fiction Best Seller List, and Top100 All Fiction Best Sellers. The follow up, Tick Tock Time's Up is rapidly gathering 5-star reviews and many fans.

Author Biography

Mark Pettinger was born in a maternity ward attached to RAF Manston in Kent. His father was in the Royal Air Force, and for the first few years of his life, he lived on a number of RAF bases on the east coast of the UK with his parents and sister.

Returning to his father's local area; he settled in a small village in Derbyshire...and the next twenty or so years we'll probably skip as I'm sure you have little interest in reading about the pros and cons of his adolescence !

A few years ago, now married and with children he moved to an idyllic village in Yorkshire, which is where he still resides with his wife and two boys.

His writing pattern is somewhat sporadic, and he writes when he can, which currently is in hotel rooms / foyer, or in an airport lounge trying to keep one eye on the departure board to ensure he doesn't miss his flight!

Mark's interest in the murky world of crime started a number of years ago when he was attracted to reading true crime. He became fascinated with the exploits of the Yorkshire Ripper, Dennis Nilsen, John Wayne Gacy, Andrei Chikatilo etc. An avid reader of many genre's, but his attention turned to favouring crime fiction; and his reading list includes Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, Val McDermid, Lynda La Plante, Sharon Bolton and Jo Nesbo.

Mark is currently penning the third in the DCI Priest series.

Books by Mark Pettinger

Tick Tock Time's Up (DCI Priest Series Book 2)


The Hardwicks are a relatively normal suburban family. Even after their young son, Joshua, recovered from a serious illness, Steven and Joanna Hardwick tried their best to ensure normality returned to their lives once more. Then Joshua was abducted. DCI Priest and his colleagues pick up the investigation, with a single priority….find Joshua and return him to his parents. Alive.

The Decalogue (DCI Priest Series Book 1)


DCI Jonny Priest, bids a fond farewell to The Metropolitan Police and heads for a new challenge with the Greater Manchester Police Force. Fresh starts never quite delivering the promises they hold; DCI Priest is met with two elements from his past - one very much welcome, the other tragic and long forgotten. Has he got what it takes to lead and inspire a new team? Can he catch a killer before he strikes again.