Lela Markham

Lela Markham is the pen name of an Alaskan novelist who was raised in a home built of books. Alaska is a grand adventure like none other with a culture that embraces summer adventure and winter artist pursuits. Lela has been a journalist, worked in the mental health field and is currently works for the State of Alaska, but her avocation has always been storyteller.

indie author Lela Markham
Author website Lela Markham
Twitter @LelaMarkham
Facebook lela.markham.7
Google+ 107939836057763984174/posts

Author Biography

Alaska has long, dark, cold winters and there were only two television stations here when I was a kid, so books entertained us and took up to places far away and unknown.

The frontier atmosphere of Fairbanks and the vast wilderness at the town's edge encourages us to adventures and my wildman husband and I have heard the call of the wild and dragged our two fearless offspring along with us for summer adventures under the midnight sun.

When winter comes, reading and writing take over and the adventures we live combined with all that reading become the seeds of adventures on the page where I strive to bring a human touch to world-altering events.

The Willow Branch is my first published novel, Book 1 of the Daermad Cycle, which will explore a alternate universe where magic really exists and dragons glide through the sky and bickering human factions imperil everyone's future. Join me for a journey into a fantasy world that won't disappoint.

Stay tuned for future novels in the Cycle and for Life As We Knew It, an apocalyptic thriller set in America circa tomorrow.

Books by Lela Markham

Mirklin Wood (Daermad Cycle Book 2)


Padraig’s quest to heal the fractured kingdom of Celdrya seems at an end as Tamys’s life hangs by a thread. Darkness obscures the One’s True King as the kingdom stands poised on the edge of destruction, torn by factions, manipulated by dark magicks, distrustful of natural allies, and unaware that a brutal army swells at her borders.



GATEWAYS is the second collection of short works published by Breakwater Harbor Books, compiling heart-pumping tales of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror and Crime are nine stories that will thrill you, rivet you, and some will even make you sleep with the light on. Gateways is a step into the novel realms of Breakwater Harbor authors. Each work is a standalone, giving a gateway into the larger work it was inspired by.

Life As We Knew It (Transformation Project Book 1)


Shane Delaney, a burned-out mercenary with a troubled past, returns home to small-town Kansas to heal his scars and quiet his demons, not planning to stay long enough for the townsfolk to reject who he has become. He never expected the town to need his deadlier skills. What would you do if the world as you know it ended today? The people of Emmaus will find out.

The Willow Branch (The Daermad Cycle Book 1)


Fate took Prince Maryn by surprise, leaving Celdrya to tear itself apart. A century later an army amasses against the warring remains of the kingdom as prophesy sends a half-elven healer on a journey to find the nameless True King. Padraig contends with dark mages, Celtic goddesses, human factions and the ancient animosities of two peoples while seeking a myth. With all this distraction, a man might meet the True King and not recognize him.