Laney Smith

Laney Smith is known for creating an emotional bond between her readers and her characters. With relatable story lines and scenarios, Smith leads her reader into believing they have found one of those "I've seen this before," storylines, only to throw a plot twist in, breathing a brand new life into a once seemingly familiar story. With non-stop progression, her readers cannot wait to see what lies ahead, enveloped in page turning excitement.

indie author Laney Smith
Author website Laney Smith
Twitter @OYTLaneySmith
Google+ LaneySmithLockCreek

Author Biography

Laney Smith was born in Little Rock, AR at St. Vincent Infirmary to a firefighter and his bride. She is the eldest of three children, and also the only girl. In her writing, Laney often draws on her experiences from having lived in Texas, Colorado, Mississippi, and California - where she currently resides. Smith is also the mother of two sons.

After encouragement from family and friends, Smith had her first published work, a poem, in an anthology in 1996. Since that time, she has gone on to write news articles/stories for City News Group in Southern California. Again, after family and friends inspired her to write a book, Smith's first independently published book, Lock Creek: One Year's Time was released in July of 2014. Since that time, she has written three additional books for the Lock Creek: Time Capsule series (with a fifth book in the works), a horror novel, a psychological thriller (based on actual events), as well as contributing works in two anthologies, written for charity. Smith enjoys her full-time writing career and in her free time hosts other authors on her monthly blog talk radio show, "Laney's World," for Writing Under The Influence Media Productions. She has numerous works in progress and is also pursuing book to film options. You can follow this author for information and more exciting developments.

Books by Laney Smith

What He's Done...


Michael "Sully" Sullivan is disturbed. He is fascinated with the power of deciding when and how something/someone lives and dies. Since he was a young boy, Sully has understood the power he holds in his hands, and the evil that resides in his head. A victim of his own demons, Sully manages to stay one step ahead of law enforcement, welcoming the challenge of outsmarting the authorities. Not only is this tale based on actual events, Sully is free!



Tyson Kingsley and his wife Claire have just stumbled upon the deal of a lifetime - Rain Hill Mansion. Common people, Tyson is amazed the home is priced within his budget. He sees all the beauty he can bring back into the home. Unbeknownst to Tyson, he will just need to rid the home of the original owner, first. Will he solve the centuries old riddle before he finds himself alone? When Tyson asks, "Why me?" the answer is shocking.

Lock Creek: Time of Death (Lock Creek: Time Capsule Series Book 4)


Lock Creek: Time of Death is riveting! Unlike any of the books before, in vivid mental images, this story ventures down a road not previously traveled. Some of the strongest characters will be tested in shocking ways. With more twists and turns than ever before, this book will keep you on the edge of your seat, rooting for your favorites. Fair warning: You will want to prepare yourself for stunning surprises. This book has lots of them.

Lock Creek: One Year's Time (Lock Creek Time Capsule Book 1)


Sheriff Derrick Decker may be a high profile member of this small community, but he manages to keep his personal life low profile. However, when newcomer, Anne Howard, moves to town, it seems the most eligible bachelor in Lock Creek finds himself thrust into the throes of the gossip wheel. It seems this sweet, "girl next door" has a secret. A big one! Once it comes out, the sexy, charming sheriff will find himself torn between loyalty and honor.

Lock Creek: Derrick's Time (Time Capsule Series Book 3)


You've known Derrick Decker the entire time you've been in Lock Creek. This trip down memory lane recounts events in full detail, though some of those events, he may prefer we forget. However, that inner wild child that he tries to tame is part of what makes him as hot as he is. This story is a more in depth look at the history behind the man.

Lock Creek: In Their Own Time (Time Capsule Series Book 2)


You have met Trevor Thomas, and if you're like most, you detest everything about him. In terms of wreaking havoc, he's far from done. In this sequel, the reader is treated to numerous surprising revelations, and "Ah-ha!" moments. The questions you have from the first book in the series will be answered. However, be prepared! There is never a shortage of scandal, suspense, romance and mystery in Lock Creek. Welcome back to Lock Creek!